Home | Diaries | Discussion | Chat | Tips | FAQ | Links | Donations | Search | How to change your profile
www.MyBrokenLeg.com

List all messages  |  Search this forum  |  Log In 

IM nail bottom screws removal
vanessafromfrance    5:46pm Apr 25 2018

Hi !
Just a quick update on what's going on with my leg. It has been now 4 months since the surgery and I've been recovering pretty well. My life is almost back to how it used to be !
I went to work almost 7 weeks after surgery, not that I wanted to, but if I kept miss work, my college would make me re-do a year. I'm a med student so visiting patients and having to stay up in their rooms was torture but I think that it kinda helped with my recovery. At fist I used both clutches at work, then I slowly reduced to one and finally I would use one clutche in my way to work but keep it in my locker once in the hospital.
I started walking outside without any clutches at about 3 month, and has been enjoying life without them for a month now. My knee and ankle range of motion are back to how they used to be thanks to PT. Everything is slowly coming back to normal.
As for pain, I barely had any, guess I'm lucky ! Sometimes my knee just feels stiff from keeping the same position but it quickly goes away.
The numbness is still here, but once the swelling disappears it is less inconfortable. The swelling is also almost gone, and the blood rush too.
At my last ortho appointment, the X ray showed some calus on both tibia and fibula, but the surgeon still planned a surgery to remove the 2 bottom screws to promote more bone growth.