Home | Diaries | Discussion | Chat | Tips | FAQ | Links | Donations | Search | How to change your profile
www.MyBrokenLeg.com

List all messages  |  Search this forum  |  Log In 

Re: Newbie: struggling with a broken leg and the cast itís been put in.
missolmoreno    10:44pm Oct 19 2019

hey Stephen, I'm Sara, 31y old from London. Welcome to this @!#$ club, the broken leg one I meant. When I couldn't bend my knee I had to raised one side of my hip to be able to walk in crutches. I don't know how fit you are, but the crutches gets easier, on week 6 I was an expert and developed muscle in my arms! Is like everything in life, the more you do, the easier it gets. If you had a tibial plateau fracture you have to heal the shin bone and that's why you can't bend your knee. Ask next week if you can have a knee brace, is much better than the cast and your recovery is gonna get less painful. To take shower, first buy in amazon a cast waterproof protection is like 10 pounds, and second you should call social services and get your home adapt, because you gonna need it for the next 3 month. I done it after I came out from hospital and they adapted my shower and toilet for free, they sent me carers and a weekly cleaner, I called on a friday and I had everything sort out on saturday, I was very shocked.
I'm going towards month 4 and still healing, everyone is different but expect minimum 6 weeks of chilling. I recommend you to buy 'osteocare' to help you speed up your recovery and drink and eat a lot of protein, no smoking, no drinking, and if you can, also take collagen. For the swelling, elevate your foot higher than your heart, expect the swelling for a minimum 6 weeks. I'm gonna be on week 15 and my one still swelling slightly.